Turil

I am for you

the great flood of human nature

we grow into the space that is most empty

The natural process of fluid dynamics is for things to flow in the direction of the most freedom. And aside from some bits of bone and scattered particles of heavy metals, human beings are fluid creatures (were about 60% water!), and thus when we human beings move, we naturally move towards the most broad, open, and available place. Of course, that place may be physical, and it can also be emotional, intellectual, and/or spiritual, because we humans have the capacity to not just move our bodies, but our hearts, our minds, and whole cultures, as well.

So you can see that what kind of person we become in life will have a huge amount to do with what paths open up to us as we are making our way through life.

As a child, most of the time the spaces that were most open, broad, and available to me just happened to be science and nature books and magazines, photography, and all kinds of science fiction and fantasy stories on television, along with, at least for a few critical years, my local woods, treehouses, and the very quiet, cold, and rocky beach just down the hill from my house on good old Madokawando Landing on the beautiful and rugged Maine coast. So these are the places my self flowed the most, giving me a unique personality that is an odd mixture of geeky philosopher, artist, and wild woman of the North.

How about you? Where were you allowed to flow?

.

1 Comment»

  moonraven222 wrote @

As a child I was often sick with asthma, so I couldn’t go downstairs and watch TV. (Those were the days when a house only had one television and ours was in the living room.) I also couldn’t go out at those times. So I sat in bed and read. A lot of my life flowed into books. I also loved the wild, untamed places in our very residential suburb–I had adventures in little patches of swamp and wetland. So part of me flowed into the woods, as well as caves, lakes, streams, and the sea–and most of my self flowed into whatever I was reading.

Thanks for asking this question. It’s also good to find out about that cold, rocky beach that meant so much to you.


Leave a Reply

